Skip to content

You’ve got nothing on us, Pottery Barn

August 8, 2011

From this…

To this…

Yep, my hubby’s got mad skillz! We call this “Ana White with a Twist”. If you haven’t heard of A-Dubs, I highly suggest you check it out. She is a master blue-print provider for all DIY projects. Any furniture you can think of making for your house, she has beat you to it and then shares how to do it! What a great friend! She tells you exactly what supplies you need to buy at the hardware store and ranks each project with a certain difficulty level. Here are the exact instructions for the table we made – with a few style and dimension changes to work for us.

Trust me when I tell you this, (because it might make this whole post more impressive) we have never done anything like this before..we just figured “what do we have to lose, we already have six-tons of firewood in our backyard, what’s another few pieces if we really screw this up. I remember one conversation of ours; I was upstairs in the office working on a project, and I said to nick “Umm, I’m a little nervous, I’ve never painted anything like this before, and he responded “that’s ok – I’ve never built a solid-wood table from scratch either”. And I think that’s the most important attitude to have when getting into these DIY projects for newbies.

Our living room is rectangular and long so we needed to pull our furniture in from the walls and closer together to create a cozier feel. Pulled in from the wall, the loveseat looked small and bare with nothing behind it. We loved this console table from Pottery Barn, perfect for behind out loveseat, but weren’t willing to pay the crazy moolah for it!

Enter Nick & Ana. He found some plans similar to the table, made changes to fit our style and size, and went off to Home Depot to get some 2×4’s.

Drawing, measuring, sawing, and sanding – and we were ready for the finish.

We wanted this table to match our new coffee table with the distressed look, so we looked around the basement work bench and got distressin’

We pounded the unfinished wood with a hammer, smashed screws into the wood, filled a rag with screw and nails and started denting away, rubbed dirt into the cracks, grabbed some small hand gardening tools and got scraping. I am so glad we love the distressed look because the process is great stress management.

We used the same stain as for this project because it matched the dark floors and trim in the house, but we didn’t want the outcome to be as dark and solid-looking – we wanted the tone to be uneven, exposing a lot more of the wood grains. We did a test strip of wood the see how long to leave the stain on before wiping it off, and leaned that with the shade we wanted, we had to apply the stain and immediately wipe it away with a rag. We only did one coat of stain, and finished the table with two coats of polyurethane.

For the total cost of $40 for lumber & supplies from Home Depot and the mad carpentry skills of my hubby, we now have a nice console table that rests behind our loveseat.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 8:41 am

    You two are an inspiration! Great teamwork you guys! Can’t wait to see what other projects you have up your sleeves! …and I’m kinda pumped to learn about a-dubbs, although I’m not sure if I’ll actually re-create anything, just admire what you guys do!

  2. Lauren permalink
    August 8, 2011 9:15 am

    Wow, I am very impressed! Nick called me and said he was making a table and throwing dirt, pennies, and screws at it….I have to admit, I didn’t think it was going to look this nice! LOL. I love it! You two are so creative!

  3. Kristin permalink
    August 8, 2011 12:03 pm

    Awesome job! I’m going to make sure I don’t lean on it though…or sit…I don’t trust Nick’s skills THAT much!!! hahaha jk I love it!!! In the mood for any projects for our place????

  4. Lori permalink
    August 8, 2011 8:27 pm

    Nick, that is amazing! Both of your Grandpa’s would be so proud!

  5. August 9, 2011 8:51 am

    This is incredible! I love you two and your super talents!!

    But even more so, I love your attitude! I kind of envy it actually as I’m more of a “this is never going to work the way I want it to” kind of gal.

Trackbacks

  1. We’re Going Green « Ivy in the Bay
  2. wo(man) cave « Ivy in the Bay
  3. 12 rooms | 12 months « Ivy in the Bay
  4. Who Knew… | Ivy in the Bay

Leave a Reply

