Skip to content

We’re Going Green

August 12, 2011

Have you ever heard of Frog Tape? It’s painting tape (that I highly recommend) in a very distinctive green color – a little too limey, not the color we’re going for – but the concept was there.

{image via}

I taped up our master bedroom to prep it for painting and loved how the green tape popped on the white walls and knew I wanted to do a green room somewhere in our house. Green is a hard color to match, too yellow, too brown, too blue…and then I saw it..at Macy’s department store. Kate Spade Green. I loved the packaging of her products, kelly green and crisp white. Kate (were now on a first-name basis..even though I don’t own a single thing of hers…) must be lovin’ on this green color..I came across a picture of one of her bathrooms and knew what I had to do!

I love me some Kate Spade Green!

So with a gallon of green paint and white trim, we changed our office from drab to fab!

Above is our office on the day we moved in. Dark wood floors (love!) and dark baseboard and trim (not so hot with the bold green)

We used off the shelf Behr Ultra White for all of the wood trim & edging, and Martha Stewart “Bay Leaf” green paint for the walls.

I apologize for the wonkie shades of green in these photos – this rooms gets little to no sunlight in the afternoon, so every photo comes out looking a bit strange and kind of limey. Just think crisp, fresh Kate Spade. Ahhh…

If you notice, all of the trim and ceiling have a crisp coat of white paint and are in the process of painting the closet door as well.

See these bad boys? (below) Yep – made them myself for less than 20 smackeroos. Super easy, all you need is white panel curtains (ours are from Ikea)  some wall paint (i used the left-over paint from our old apartment) painters tape, and a roller!

Total cost of the office update: $60 – Almost everything in here are things that we found for free or already owned.

$15 white paint (also used for doors & trim in our back hallway)

$25 green paint

$20 white IKEA curtains

We have lots more plans for this office, starting with this wall collage and a custom built-by-my-hubby (inspired my A-Dubs, of course) double desk. I’m a MAC, he’s a PC so we obviously can’t share a desk for much longer!

Stay tuned with office updates and hopefully some better quality photos!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 8:19 am

    A.freaking.Mazing!! LOVE the green and am obsessed with the curtains! Might be copying that very soon! You inspire me!

  2. August 12, 2011 9:32 am

    Love this room! Gorgeous color choice and it does looks so bright and fresh and super cute!

    Love the curtains too! I NEVER would have guessed you painted them if you hadn’t said so…the lines are perfect!

    PS As a fellow “old house” owner, I have to ask how you painted the windows easily? I need to paint the trim of our playroom (like for years now) and the windows intimidate me, so I haven’t even tried!

  3. August 17, 2011 4:01 pm

    LOVE that color! And the curtains work perfectly!

Trackbacks

  1. How to DIY Striped Curtains « Ivy in the Bay
  2. {almost} Everything is free in the paint aisle… « Ivy in the Bay
  3. Pillow Talk. « Ivy in the Bay

Leave a Reply

