Skip to content

Shutter Mail Holder

September 13, 2011

Everyone has that pile-all area, the minute you walk in the door, drop the mail, keys and whatever else you are holding. In the midst of the whirlwind life we’ve had the past three months..ours got bad. Real bad. I’m talking coupons, wedding invites, pay stubs, birthday cards and bills. Throw it in the corner!

An this is how our mornings went at that point.

“Honey, where are the keys, I’m late for work”

“I don’t know…Did you check your pants from yesterday? The office? Upstairs on the dresser? …. the refrigerator?” (I’ve misplaced some weird things in the fridge..)

And now…with a little white paint , an old window shutter and some hooks…we have a small mail / bill / coupon / key station for ZERO dolla!

I sanded the shutter, removed the dowel handle that ran vertical down the center, and painted it white.

Although a lot of these are a little too “country” for me, here are some more cute ideas around the web  re-using old window shutters. (click image for source)

Shutter Console Table                                      Shutter Headboard

 

Shutter Organizer (I like how this looks a little more modern painted black with the exposed metal hardware)

Pottery Barn does Shutter Style                                                  Coat Rack / Hangers

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    September 13, 2011 7:52 am

    I like it Katie!

  2. Lissa permalink
    September 11, 2012 2:59 pm

    I stumbled across this post looking for inspiration. Can I ask what you put behind the shutter slats so that your mail doesn’t fall through the cracks?

    dwalker{AT}pga{DOT}com

    • September 23, 2012 10:41 am

      HI Lisa,
      I actually didn’t put anything behind the slats – and not going to lie, sometimes creates a problem. If you’re like us and have enough junk to hold on to- we just double and triple stuff up making it thick enough to stay in the slots. If I was going to do it again I would add a small piece of cardstock securing the backs.
      – Katie

Leave a Reply

