Skip to content

Let’s Dance

January 5, 2012

My dad is a passionate music lover, all kinds of artists, styles and genres. From the Beatles to Jason Mraz and everything in between. My dad also has three daughters, who he loves more than his music collection, right dad?! (he’s an avid reader if my blog!) so one of the most memorable parts of our weddings for him was the Father-Daughter dance.

There is a strong possibility that he chose the perfect songs for us to dance to before we chose our perfect husbands!
I wanted to make him something special this year for Christmas, so I incorporated the lyrics from our Father-Daughter songs into some framed art for his office.
First I chose the frames to use – really any size would work, just adjust your picture size and matt according. I used 8″ x 10″ frames without a mat.

Find the image you want to use, and how big you want it to be, and then choose the text you want to use.

I used Adobe InDesign to create this by placing in the image (4″x 5″) and then placing the song lyrics around it with a text wrap. I’m no expert, but I would imagine there is a way to do this with text wrap in Microsoft Word as well.

I printed my document on thicker cardstock paper, image and text in one and framed it. You could also print the text leaving a box in the middle open and cutting it out with an exacto knife and using that as a matt around your photo if you wanted more of a 3-D look.

If you are really bold with beautiful handwriting…go for it by hand!

Here are the final files that made me my Dad tear up by our Christmas tree.

As you see in the photo, my beautiful youngest sister Jessie isn’t married yet, so I added the lyrics to one of my Dad’s favorite songs – you don’t need a wedding to have a Father-Daughter song! You can make this simple DIY project with a Father-Daughter dance, for your first dance with a wedding photo, a favorite lullaby, nursery rhyme or bible verse with an image or even a favorite song with your BFF.

I Don’t have any photos of the actual frames on a wall..yet. I will update this when I do so you can see my completed project. Dad, maybe you can send a few over?

Psst… After I wrote this, I found a First Dance version on Pinterest  just to give you an idea of what it looks like printed out, framed and on the wall..and to give you ideas on how to do it yourself!

{image via}

And here are some more fun and simple ideas to display your favorite song lyrics…

{image via}

{image via}

{image via}

{image via}

On a Father-Daughter Dance side note..check out these adorable shoes..

{image via}

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 8:45 am

    This is such a great idea! I bet your Dad absolutely loved it!!!

    • January 8, 2012 8:46 pm

      He did love it! The way you are raising your amazing *crafty* babies, I’m sure they will do something just as unique and loving for you and Matt! 🙂

  2. Jackie permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:12 am

    my dad loves pokas…I don’t think it would be as memorable as song
    s with lyrics 🙂

Leave a Reply

