Skip to content

I pinned it. I did it.

February 20, 2012

Another post of actually doing something that I pinned..and no surprise here..it’s another recipe! Maybe it’s the fact that the recipes I choose are usually pretty simple, or they just seem simple in comparison to the other projects that I pin.

I guess I can see why this

… seems a little bit less doable (in one day…in Wisconsin…in the middle of February) than this


{images via}

So with one quick trip to the grocery store, I went with the second option and did not regret it. This Mexican Baked Penne was filling, easy to make and super tasty. If you love pasta + mexican food, give this a try!

{image my own}

Ingredients {Recipe from here}

1/2 pound whole wheat penne (1/2 box)
1 pound lean ground beef (I used lean ground turkey, but the meal would actually be good with no meat at all and add more veggies)
1 TBSP olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 large bell pepper, chopped (I used red and green peppers)
1 large onion
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
2 jars salsa (about 30 oz.)
(I added some hot taco sauce to spice it up a bit)
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed (I added a can of yellow corn with the beans)
salt and pepper
2 cups shredded Mexican Blend Cheese

* I served each slice with cilantro, sour cream and a few fresh avocado slices…YUM!

Preheat oven to 350*.  Boil pasta according to package instructions.

Meanwhile, saute garlic, onions, and peppers in the olive oil over medium~high heat in a large non~stick skillet.  Season ground beef with salt and pepper and add to pan.  Add spices and additional salt and pepper to taste.  Cook ground beef until browned.  Drain and add to a large bowl.  Add the beans, salsa and pasta.  Stir to combine.

Spray a 9×13″ baking dish with non~stick cooking spray.  Pour half the pasta mixture into the pan.  Top with 1 cup cheese.  Cover with remaining pasta.  Then top with remaining 1 cup cheese.  Bake for 30-35 minutes or until bubbly and the cheese is golden.

{image my own}

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karin permalink
    February 20, 2012 6:22 pm

    Ah! Looks pretty tasty!! I just “pinned it, did it” last night a very similar recipe only minus the pasty, add flour tortillas, and you have like a mexican lasagna. http://pinterest.com/pin/130322982936862288/ Honestly, it was very good. Not that great for you, but hey, not everything can be! I am loving casserole type dishes more and more, it’s just so easy. AND Still loving your blog! 🙂

  2. February 22, 2012 4:24 pm

    That looks yummy!!!!

Leave a Reply

