Skip to content

I’m back with lots to share!

March 13, 2012

I never wanted this blog to turn into something that I had to do, and the past few weeks, I just wasn’t feelin’ it – so I took a little blog break, rolled up my sleeves, and got into some fun house projects. My to-do list was getting long, so it was nice to cross a few things off and now I have lots of fun new things to share with you all – and a few secrets too šŸ˜‰

The weather has been amazing, i’ve been able to get outside and run, there is a little tropical getaway in my future and signs of spring in the garden – I don’t know what it is about fresh warm weather but it sure puts a pep in my step! (yep, just said that)

I’m sure you’ve all been dying to hear from me;)…right??

Let’s start in the room we throw all our crap on the table and never dine in dining room. As you can see in the photos from this post – I made a cheap inexpensive table runner with a strip of burlap from the fabric store for about $1 and used some liquid check on the edges to keep it from unraveling, it was good, not great. Burlap tends to hang out in the country-cottage corner of the design room, and I don’t really like to go there – it’s simple and I love the texture, but I wanted to add a little something to modernize it.

With a small plastic stencil from Michaels Craft Store, stencil brush, and some acrylic craft pain, I was ready to roll ..err..stencil… for just a few bucks.

I taped down craft paper to the floor, and then taped the burlap on top of that.

*LAZY craft tip – When working with burlap, no need to measure to get a straight line, just figure out where you want your vertical line to be and find the piece a piece of string that lines up with that line, and PULL it out! that’s what she said (sorry!) This will create a small gap in the threads that you can see, but is not obvious. You can see on the images below, the fabric will bunch when you pull the string, and it will probably break, just keep pulling until it’s all the way through. Can you see the 2 faint lines on the image with the arrows?

You already know my obsession with the wonders of frog tape – perfectly crisp edges! Lay your stencil down and get going …there is really no trick, I started out taping it down in a few spots, but ended up just holding it (maybe that’s why the pattern got a little sloppy at the end?!)

I love how it turned out! Still neutral, but a little more modern and adds some pattern to the room.

And in case you are wondering, the image on the bottom left below is how we dine every evening. Fresh flowers, table set for 4 (even though there is only 2 of us), a perfectly balanced home-cooked meal, and certainly no tv on for distractions šŸ˜‰

Psyche! Here is where we usually eat…and here is how it currently looks…sad, I know, just keepin’ it real with you …we need to change that..but really who doesn’t eat in front of the tv once in a while?? Come on!

And yes that is a bottle of Windex, a sewing machine and a bottle of wine. No big deal.

Pssst! Next time you go through your morning routine…pour your coffee, check your email, check ivy in the bay…type in http://www.ivyinthebay.wordpress.com..no more wordpress in the address.. that’s right – I’m a (dot)com!

Ivyinthebay.com wootwoot!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    March 13, 2012 8:25 am

    Love the table runner and I was thinking now that you’re a pro, maybe you could make me one?! Or make multiples and sell them on Etsy so I can purchase one šŸ™‚ Dare I admit.. we currently have a PLAIN burlap runner on our “dining room” table. AH I knew it looked too country!!

    Love the updates. XO.

    • March 13, 2012 9:22 pm

      I’ll mail the stencil – we can have matching runners, or open a duo etsy shop! Look at this! > Same stencil, but used on furniture instead!

      • March 15, 2012 12:24 am

        Annnd apparently it didnt link the image..ill email you šŸ˜‰

  2. Claire Braby permalink
    March 13, 2012 8:52 pm

    I love your posts and your humor…pretty sure I LOL’d a few times šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ You are truly my inspiration…

    • March 13, 2012 9:23 pm

      Claire! I’m glad you like reading my ramblings! It’s so fun to work on this stuff, and to document it! Let’s get together and have a crafty afternoon sometime šŸ™‚

  3. March 14, 2012 9:14 am

    Love this post…the project is great and all but the “keeping it real” pic and the “that’s what she said” comment completely cracked me up!

    • March 15, 2012 12:23 am

      HAHA! I don’t know what it is..maybe the wine..maybe the windex…but sometimes i get going and have no filter when i type..it pops in my head and onto the keyboard..oh well, who doesn’t love a “that’s what she said” joke.

Leave a Reply

