Skip to content

Pillow Talk.

April 5, 2012

I’m back! My vacation was lovely! I spent a long weekend on Miami Beach with a girlfriend from work. We spent our days lounging by the pools, walking along the beach, taking afternoon naps on the breezy balcony, evenings at the spa and wonderful dining.

So relaxing and exactly what I needed!

Now I’m back to the daily grind and ready to share a few more projects with you all!
I have a slight problem. I often want what doesn’t exist. The perfect dress, jacket or shoes are in my head, but not on the shelf. It’s so frustrating to shop, and know exactly what I want, but it doesn’t exist, in-stores or online! That was the case with the pillows for this room.

I knew I wanted something punchy to go with the stripes on the wall…and only one requirement, it couldn’t be stripes!

Rewind a few weeks, and not on the subject of pillows…I’ve been looking for a new case for my iPhone and came across this beaut from Kate Spade. Apparently I have a thing for her (even thought I don’t own a single Katie Spade item)


image

I read the reviews on the case, and they actually weren’t that great, so I didn’t buy it for my phone, but was completely inspired for a pillow- Gold polka dots it is!

I couldn’t find the right pillows anywhere, and the perfect polka-dot fabric didn’t exist, so I knew I had to make it myself! I purchased a large rectangular pillow insert and a yard of thick white fabric from the fabric store for less than $20 total.
I wanted the circles to look more like a pattern and not random so I had to plan it all out. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and never trust my free-hand, so I printed out a pattern of circles, with their centers marked that I made in InDesign. I laid out the paper on my fabric, and marked a small dot with a pen onto the fabric where the centers should be.

Then I punched out a perfect 2″x 2″ card stock circle with my paper punch, made a small hole in the center, and lined up the center of the card stock circle with the tiny dot on the fabric and traced around to make a perfect circle – are you following me here?. Once the circles were all drawn, I was all set to paint!

I mixed 2 different gold craft paints to get the perfect gold shimmery color. I wanted it to match this mirror.
*side note* When we first got this hand-me-down mirror from Nicks Grandma, we had plans of painting it any color but gold at the time, but once I painted the room, I LOVED the gold color – it’s the perfect shade and I’m so glad I never painted over it…and now I’m planning other pieces of the room around the mirror – thanks Grams!

Count ’em. Thirty-Three (33) circles. It doesn’t look like much, but every single one hand painted, and inside the lines might I add, takes A. LONG. TIME. Now I know why hand painted items cost so much!

After the paint dried, I sewed it and stuffed it!

See the two pillows behind the polka-dot beauty? I made those too! Another yard of sale fabric, and two pillow inserts later and we have a bed of fun throw pillows for exactly $40.

I don’t have a pattern for these, so send me a message if you want specific dimensions and directions. I basically just measured the pillows and cut & sewed the fabric to fit. Remember to turn your fabric inside-out and sew as much as you can, then flip it right side out, stuff the pillow in, and sew up the rest. I hand sew the final part.

I’m going to be honest, after this project I kind of got hooked on the idea of making more and more throw pillows – it was pretty easy, pretty cheap to do, and I love the results!
You know that scene in Along Came Polly where Jennifer Aniston convinces Ben Stiller to stab all of his throw pillows?….Is this going to be me and Nick with a future throw pillow problem!?


“Oh, and by the way, I threw away all your little throw pillows. Yea. Cuz throw pillows suck. They serve no purpose. They’re purely decorative.”

What do you think of throw pillows? Completely necessary? Or a pain to take on and off the bed every morning and night?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison Jabaay permalink
    April 5, 2012 3:05 am

    Hi Katie! I love your blog. That room is turning out awesome!
    We must think alike, because today I went out and bought that exact gold paint to make a similar polka dotted pillow inspired by Kate Spade’s dishes! Hah! Now I will just have to use your tutorial =).
    I miss your family. It was always fun to be in Florida at the same time as you guys were. Hope all is well!

    • April 12, 2012 11:22 pm

      Hi!! Yes, how did you pillows turn out!?! Easy for crafty people like us, it just takes time πŸ™‚ HOw are you guys doing?? I came across your etsy site, I might have to make a little purchase, how fun!

  2. April 5, 2012 8:32 am

    Oh they are a must, I need a cuddle pillow to sleep with every night πŸ™‚

  3. April 5, 2012 9:03 am

    I love the way throw pillows look. The extra bonus – about once every other blue moon my husband makes the bed. It’s hysterical to see how HE thinks throw pillows should be arranged on the bed. Let’s just say he is way more creative than I am. πŸ™‚

    • April 12, 2012 11:21 pm

      Haha! Well at least he attempts! The whole room looks “off” when the pillows aren’t in their place!

  4. weld1jac permalink
    April 5, 2012 11:17 am

    Love the pillows! You did an awesome job. You’ve inspired me to try it out this weekend. Can’t wait :).

    • April 12, 2012 11:20 pm

      Thanks Jackie! Sorry this is so late, but were you able to try it out? How did it work??! I would love to see!

  5. hstuart3 permalink
    April 11, 2012 8:06 am

    That looks like a lot of meticulous work, but the pillows are gorgeous, so very worth it! Love the Along Came Polly reference too!

  6. Michelle permalink
    June 1, 2012 12:05 am

    Thank you thank you thank you!!!! I LOVE Kate spade gold polka dots and this DIY project is perfect πŸ™‚

    • June 2, 2012 6:11 pm

      Thanks so much Michelle! I love how it turned out, actually easier than I thought – are you going to DIY it?! Would love to see pics if you do πŸ™‚

  7. January 22, 2013 12:42 pm

    Love the gold dots pillow! I love that Kate Spade case too, but didn’t buy it because of the mediocre reviews.

    • January 22, 2013 6:44 pm

      Thanks Sarah! I’ve noticed a lot more gold polka dots since making these pillows, but it’s always more fun to DIY, right?!

    • February 5, 2013 10:48 am

      Thank you! Now I have the itch and want to add gold polka dots to everything I own!

Trackbacks

  1. We’re Breaking Rules « Ivy in the Bay

Leave a Reply

