Skip to content

Who’s yo daddy? {GIVEAWAY}

April 14, 2012

I don’t normally post on the weekends…but I’m too excited not to share a little fun we’ve got going on for you all.
Get ready for a CONTEST – my first blog GIVEAWAY! Keep reading….

We’ve gone all Jerry Springer up in here! Jerry! Jerry!Jerry!

C’mon, you know you’ve all seen at least a few minutes of that disaster of a show…at least on a sick day when nothing else is on?!

We’ve got a sweet baby girl, but no baby mama or baby daddy for her..this Mutt of ours calls for an episode of Jerry’sΒ  Paternity Tests Revealed…..

but apparently they don’t do pets…so we turned to the scientists at Wisdom Panel: Canine Genetic Analysis for our answers.

Nick recently turned 27 and as an obvious gift from a loving wife, I got him a pet DNA test – we’ve always joked about doing the test, but was never really something we justified buying randomly…so it was a perfect birthday gift.

I wasn’t totally convinced so I called two different vets to confirm that this test was legit, and they agreed, and it was actually the brand that they both used for their tests as well. I found the test on Amazon for about $30 cheaper – gotta love amazon! The kit arrived in the mail, we swabbed Moxies cheeks for 15 seconds with 2 different giant Q-tips and mailed them back in a pre-paid DNA mail kit Ryan Braun style (too soon?).

Two weeks later…..and we have results! DRUMROLL Please……

PSYCHE! No Way! I’m going to make you guess! Here is the fun part. I see you checking out the blog in numbers, but I would LOVE to hear from the real YOU! Seriously, I love getting comments, questions and feedback! Any questions? What do you want to see more of on the blog? I would love to know!

Moxie’s heritage was traced back to her grandparents breeds, and I want you to guess what she’s made up of! A little melting pot in our house! Can you guess the top 3 breeds?

Here is a clue…her top three are somewhere in this chart of different dogs.

{Images via}

For a chance to win a $30 Crate and Barrel Gift Card…all you have to do is guess Moxies breed! Who doesn’t love a little Crate and Barrel!

In the comment section below..give me a shout-out with the top three breeds you think she is! That simple folks! Winner will be announced on Monday.

Embrace your inner Cesar Millan, and good luck! Have a great weekend everyone.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    April 14, 2012 11:21 am

    Vizsla
    Lab
    Shorthaired Pointer

    Katie – you are so fun!

    Have a great weekend, Lynn

  2. Abbey permalink
    April 14, 2012 11:25 am

    You never mentioned the gift card last night when you told me the results! I feel cheated!

  3. Adam Hintz permalink
    April 14, 2012 11:37 am

    This is awesome – I didn’t know you could even do this. I’ve gotta guess Vizsla, Foxhound, and German Shorthaired Pointer. Great looking dog guys!

  4. April 14, 2012 11:44 am

    You never told me about the gift card either when I was told the results!

  5. April 14, 2012 12:00 pm

    Great blog work Katie!

    Vizsla, dachshund, lab

  6. McKenzie permalink
    April 14, 2012 12:15 pm

    Vizsla
    Labrador Retriever
    Foxhound (I was highly tempted to say beagle due to the ears, but my instinct is going with the hound!)

    I love all the DYI yourself tutorials. Can we say new mercury glass making queen over here?

  7. Paige permalink
    April 14, 2012 12:26 pm

    Pit
    Vizsla
    Lab
    Boom!
    I love crate&barrel

  8. April 14, 2012 12:55 pm

    Pit-bull, Lab, Fox hound!! Little do you know, while on our run yesterday Moxie told me who her mom, dad, grandma,and grandpa were! Yes, I speak dog and i’m fancy! Ps I like when you do “I pinned it I did it posts”!

  9. Marianna permalink
    April 14, 2012 3:40 pm

    Here’s my guess: German Shorthaired Pointer, Foxhound, and Staffordshire terrier… I’m excited to find out =)

  10. Jessica permalink
    April 14, 2012 7:34 pm

    Lab
    Pitbull
    Vizsla

  11. weld1jac permalink
    April 14, 2012 9:39 pm

    Hello! Hmmm…my guess would be:
    Lab, Beagle, and Pit
    She’s adorable… πŸ™‚

    Here’s hoping I get that Crate and Barrel gift card! πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend. Take care
    Jackie

  12. Kristin permalink
    April 14, 2012 9:43 pm

    After changing my answer a million times….i think I have it: It is….wait for it…
    Vizsla, Pitbull, Foxhound

    Dre’s best guess is: Vizsla, Pitbull, German Shorthaired Pointer

    He really wanted to say Moxie was a Dachshund, but I wouldn’t let him. He better not be right!!! πŸ™‚

    I love your creative ideas!!!

  13. Alex Bretl permalink
    April 15, 2012 8:13 am

    Lab, Pit Bull, and Fox Hound… If I’m right, I’m going right to whitefish bay village hall to complain about the pit bull problem over on shoreland… Haha

  14. April 15, 2012 9:51 am

    my guesses: Viszla, Foxhound, Beagle.

    ps – love your pinterest pages, too πŸ™‚

  15. brianneobrien permalink
    April 15, 2012 7:34 pm

    Hmm, I love these games! I’d say lab, pit bull and vizsla.

  16. Erin Kelly permalink
    April 15, 2012 7:34 pm

    Foxhound, lab and beagle πŸ™‚
    I stalk you to the max because I love all of your ideas, but I need HELP! So I am trying to ween the hubby off of our “White Sox/Baseball” themed office into something more appropriate for the both of us since I will be going back to school. I want to do something more naturesque (tried incorporating his lovely studies of water bugs), but how do I make a small apartment second bedroom easy to use for two folks going back to school, and on a budget???

  17. nelliev2 permalink
    April 15, 2012 7:41 pm

    I don’t think my original reply went through, and I don’t want to miss out on this giveaway, so don’t mind if this is a double response!

    Moxie is Viszla, pit and lab! Goooooo Viszlas!

  18. Cecelia Schlosser permalink
    April 15, 2012 8:16 pm

    Hey Katie! This is so fun! I love it! We have a Weimaraner at our house which is cousins with the Vizsla which I think is the number one breed of your little one! Then Pitbull and my third guess is a Beagle (that third one was a tough one)!
    So:
    1. Vizsla
    2.Pitbull
    3. Beagle
    So fun! I love your blog (so looking forward to buying our first house so I can use all your awesome ideas)!

  19. April 15, 2012 9:27 pm

    vizla pitbull and lab!
    ❀ julia and bobby
    we got this!

  20. Hannah permalink
    April 15, 2012 10:05 pm

    Vizsla, Foxhound and Stafordshire Terrior

    I think your blog is fun! It’s the only one I follow right now. I like your home projects, etc.

  21. April 16, 2012 7:27 pm

    Beagle, Lab, and Pit Bull! Hope I am not too late!

  22. April 16, 2012 7:27 pm

    BTW, you know I love everything about your blog! It rocks!

  23. Jessie permalink
    April 16, 2012 9:24 pm

    Technology finally caught up to me up here in the woods…I’ve said this from day one and must stand firm with the breeds of my fur-niece
    “Congrats Chocolate Lab, Pittbull, Vizsla…you ARE the father!”

    Is Dexter next?

  24. April 16, 2012 9:52 pm

    Hello! thanks everyone for playing πŸ™‚ I LOVE LOVED hearing from you all and all your guesses….the results are in…are you ready!?!?!

  25. hstuart3 permalink
    April 22, 2012 7:26 pm

    LOL!! Dying laughing at this post…you are too funny!

Leave a Reply

