Skip to content

iPinned It. iDid It : Shrinkage

May 15, 2012

Have you ever tried to solve a problem, but in turn, created another? Yes? Welcome to this weeks iPinned It. iDid It. (can i still call it weekly, even though its been about a month?)

Anyways, I came across this Pin from 320sycamoreblog.com and had to try it – How to clean your shower curtain liner in the washing machine.

We have old, old  water pipes in our house that over time turn the white shower curtain liner a slight orange color (yuck! I know) ( Is that a sign that I need to clean more often?) I scrub it when I scrub the shower and tub, but it never goes away completely, and I usually end up throwing away the liner and getting a new one after a while.

But really, who knew that you could just throw your liner in the washer? Seriously, am I the only one that missed the boat on this one??

I didn’t even think to snap photos, mainly because I figured no one wanted to see our dirt, but luckily Melissa from 320 Sycamore was brave enough to air her dirty laundry. These were the photos I saw on Pinterest that inspired me to give it a try.

Before: Nasty (her words, not mine!)

After: Clean but wrinkly

{images via}

So I gave it a try, just as her instructions said, and last minute decided to throw my white shower curtain in the wash as well with a splash of bleach, why not? Might as well save some water on another load.

The liner came out great, just like the pictures – sparkling clean. The shower curtain was a different story, and totally my own fault. I just assumed you could wash a white cotton shower curtain…WRONG!

Apparently there is a little label on the curtain, called washing instructions, that you should read.

Really? Since when did white cotton shower curtains from Kohl’s become so needy?

10″ shorter and lesson learned. Humpf 😦

As sad as it is, I’m pumped to know the shower curtain liner trick works for the future, and the shrinkage really couldn’t have come at a better time….(if I had a nickle for every time I said that…)

We are currently in the process of installing a new (to us) vanity, sink and faucet from my sister-in-law who recently DIY-ed an amazing new bathroom. We’re slowly getting rid of the mint green fixtures and adding a new shower curtain and some brighter colors. I swear I didn’t shrink the white one on purpose to get this one instead 😉

I’m in love with the new curtain and can’t wait for its arrival!

{image via}

Remember what it looked like when we moved in?

Do you have any Pinterest fails? Do share! Those are usually better stories than the ones that turn out just perfect!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brianne O'Brien permalink
    May 15, 2012 7:27 am

    This stuff happens! I now buy the heavy duty clear liners (they require fewer wash cycles) and then I just don’t touch the shower curtain. 🙂

  2. May 16, 2012 10:22 am

    Pretty sure I’ve done the exact same thing with our shower curtain once or twice. Darn it!!

    But really nice work picking out a new one! 🙂 Love the colors!

  3. Karl Casco permalink
    November 21, 2012 11:40 am

    Shower curtains that are made from polypropylene are the best. .

    <a href="See all of the most current post at our very own homepage
    http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/caramoan-tour-package/

  4. Hazel Lamirand permalink
    February 20, 2013 3:15 am

    There are many people who prefer getting shower doors in Denver mainly because they are able to provide protection from seeping water better than flimsy curtains. Often times, shower doors add much to the ambiance and the design of bathrooms as well. They come in many different styles though and hence, people will need to take time deciding on their preferred selections. Know that selection will vary according to type.`

    Our internet page
    <'http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/

Leave a Reply

