Skip to content

Happy 1 Year.

June 5, 2012

We can’t believe it, but it’s been exactly one year since we moved into our house and what an exciting year it’s been. I am SO glad we aren’t spending the summer scraping wall paper and painting trim. Dare I say that we might actually be able to enjoy this summer?!

I’ve never really talked about it, so I thought I would share our home buying experience.

About  a year before we decided to start house hunting (so about two years ago) we were heading to the mall in the area, have some friends that live on the street that we now live on, so naturally we stalked drove by their house. On the way we saw an adorable brick English Cottage, covered in green ivy, filled with rose bushes and tulips. It was not for sale at the time, but we both made comments that we would love to live in a quaint house like that, and absolutely LOVED the area that it was in. I remember saying to Nick ” look at that adorable house, wouldn’t it be lovely to live there ” (ok so maybe I didn’t use the word lovely..) and went on to talk about that exact house, that was not for sale…for a few minutes. Yeah it gives me goosebumps too – seriously how weird is that…meant to be?!

That house set the standard; we wanted a brick house with lots of greenery in Whitefish Bay. For a while into our hunt it was the same old’ same old’ houses that just weren’t quite right. We walked through lots, but just didn’t get that “feeling” that everyone talked about. All the houses we looked at were fixer-uppers, which is what we wanted for a first house, we knew it was a good investment in this area, but none of them gave us that good feeling.

And then…this quaint little ivy house came on the market – I noticed it online right away. “Nick, is this the adorable house we drive by last summer” And it was for sale! It was priced out of our max price range, but worth a shot. It’s a buyers market, right? I called our realtor right away and walked through the house two days later.

How do you know when it’s the right house? That’s what I asked everyone that already owned a home, and they all said, you will just know. After walking through the house, I had a dream about us living in it that night and knew it was “the one.”

I took Nick through it a few days later, and we put in an offer that night. The offer was accepted and we closed a few months later. We actually had a very seamless buying process!

For the past 12 months, we’ve done LOTS to the house..and plan on doing lots more!

Since it’s been a while…let’s do a “12 rooms | 12 months” tour, shall we?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 3:44 pm

    I love that story! So meant to be!!!

    Happy House-iversary!

    • June 18, 2012 11:04 pm

      I know, it’s freaky but I love it as a first-home story! Now I’m constantly walking around searching for our second house, thinking it will jump out at me again!

Trackbacks

  1. 12 rooms | 12 months « Ivy in the Bay

Leave a Reply

