Skip to content

12 rooms | 12 months

July 30, 2012

I started talking about our 12 rooms in 12 months here and all the changes we’ve done in our living room..and never really finished. We’ve been busy enjoying our summer! If you were to ask what we did last summer, my first and only response would be sweating our butts off removing wallpaper…and then patching holes, priming, and painting – so we wanted to make a point to take advantage of the {very hot} lazy summer months.

But,  In case you are still interested, let me take you through a few more rooms in the house!

The is the room we refer to as the “Blue Room” It’s our downstairs guest bedroom near the back of the house.

We really didn’t have to do too much in this room, it was painted white, has 2 closets, lots of windows and lots of space!

We have some major plans for this room in the near future. Right now it’s set up as a guest room and Nicks changing room. We’re in the process of adding lots of closet space upstairs so this closet will go away …literally…We’re tearing it out and expanding the shower in the ajoining bathroom into the closet space. My younger sister is moving in with us for a semester while in school so my hope is to get this project in the works so she can have her own bed bath combo. We haven’t told her yet that her rent is a new bathroom 😉

See that little wooden weenie in the picture below holding the belts, I consider that a bonus to our house – already in the closet and what a cutie!

I was nervous painting a big room such a dark color but we ended up LOVING the color – Behr Starless Night. It’s one of my favorite rooms in the house.

We added white trim around all the windows and door and will eventually need to touch up all the paint on the baseboards and around the windows.

Read all about how we updated this writer’s desk HERE

And how we updated an old dresser HERE...

We added some shelves and some free DIY art to the wall…

To fall inline with my rule that everything should have meaning, I wanted to add a touch of history, and this amazing photo of Nicks Grandpa from High School does just the trick. Can you tell which one he is?

Maybe I’m crazy like the mom that thinks her baby looks just like the Gerber Baby,  but I think they look so much a like!

Psst! A few of my Pinspirations for the Blue Room..

{image}

{image}

I love the look of navy furniture on navy walls…new end tables someday?

{image}

See that coral in our room in the photos above…I think it needs a POP of color

Thanks for stopping by the Blue Room – Happy Tuesday, everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 10:06 pm

    I love the navy and white combo, but I really like the idea of painting the coral!!

  2. July 31, 2012 7:50 am

    You are very talented Katie! Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. Just add stripes « Ivy in the Bay

Leave a Reply

