Skip to content

A new{ish} place to park our rears

October 10, 2012

A new{ish} place to park our rears…and no, I’m not talking about a new toilet.

Here’s a project that’s been on my “to blog list” for quite some time.

When we bought the house a year ago, we were left with a lovely housewarming gift. This here peeling, rusty flimsy bench was all ours! Woot!

Before the bench project I was in search of a patio umbrella. I LOVED the look of a classic striped umbrella but only found this one from pottery barn. Adorable, and obviously digging the stripes, but not worth $280! Well, maybe is it….but I’ll never know.

{Image}

If I couldn’t have a striped umbrella, then I’ll take a striped bench  for a heck-of-a-lot cheaper!

I hopped on Pinterest in search of bench pinspiration, and came across these…

{1} / {2} / {3} / {4}

but decided to stick to a more classic color combo with a pattern like #4.(but how awesome is that #2 ombre dresser!) I ended up painting vertical stripes instead of the horizontal board, because, you know, painting the boards in the direction they are already going would just be too easy.

There was major sanding that had to happen first, so it was easiest to take apart the whole bench.

I measured it out, taped it off, and added a coat of primer, then two coats of navy and white paint. This project wasn’t difficult, it just took time because I had to paint all the white stripes, then remove and re tape, and paint the navy.

We reassembled the bench with new {sturdier} hardware, spray painted the legs with rustoleum oil rubbed bronze spray paint, and had a new and improved seating area.

While I admit the bench is a little nautical and summery…and I like to think I live near the ocean (Lake Michigan, ehh? close enough)…

{1} / {2} / {3} / {4} / {5}

We’ve transformed it into a fall scape with some pumpkins, mums, and candles.

My plan {key word, plan} is to add some boxwood bushes in basket planters (like #4 in the collage above) to be kept there year round.

Maybe a fun pillow on the bench in the summer with a little garden stool to hold a summery cocktail? Here’s hoping for a slow fall &  fast winter!

Psst! Love the stripes as much as we do? Check out our other DIY striped projects here, here and here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2012 8:50 am

    Really cute project! I love the finished result and really like the navy and orange together. I actually think the green painters tape looks great with it too, so adding some green in there would be lovely as well. Love your painted pumpkins too. We do that, but more to keep the squirrels from eating our pumpkins! 🙂

  2. October 10, 2012 9:09 am

    I love love this!! :o)

Leave a Reply

